Voters register: Akrofuom NPP parliamentary candidate appeals to indigenes to register


The newly elected NPP parliamentary candidate for Akrofuom Constituency, Mr. Alex Blankson has appealed to the people of Akrofuom to register in their numbers in the ongoing voter registration exercise.

Mr. Blankson has pointed out that the figures gotten from the Mensonso Electoral area at the end of their voter registration so far are not encouraging.

The Electoral area which had six registration centres were able to register two thousand and ninety-three (2,093) people at the end of six days of registration against a total projection of three thousand five hundred and six (3,506).

The Parliamentary Candidate said the District Assembly should intensify the voter registration education in the district especially in the Nkoranza Electoral area where the registration is starting from Monday, 6th July to Saturday, 11th July so as to sensitize the general public on the need to participate in the registration.

Commenting on the need for massive registration, Mr. Blankson said “Politics is all about numbers. It is numbers that gave us constituency in 2004, and it is the same numbers that made the President bless us with a district status. You cannot do away with numbers in lobbying for the developmental projects from the Central Government and other agencies like GNPC”.

“It is therefore incumbent on all political leaders in Akrofuom District and Nananom to do everything within our preview to see a massive voter registration for this registration period,” he stressed.

All these happened when a section of Akrofuom indigenes living in the Sekondi Takoradi Metropolis called on him at his residence in Takoradi to congratulate him on his massive win for the just-ended NPP Parliamentary primaries. The Akrofuom primaries which saw seven people vying for the candidature position, the highest in the country, ended peacefully electing Alex Blankson, grandson of the Late Nana Okai Ababio, with a massive win beating his close contender, Mr. Maxwell Sarfoh-Abu, the former Chairman for the Constituency.


Leave a Reply