Nalerigu named capital of newly created North East Region

President Akufo-Addo has named Nalerigu as the capital town of the North East Region.

The president announced the selection at a ceremony held at the presidency to present the Constitutional Instrument backing the creation of the region on Tuesday.

This is the first of six to be named. Per a statement from the presidency, the 5 others, will accordingly be named subsequently till Friday February 15.

The presentation follows the December 27, 2018 referendum where residents within the catchment areas of the six proposed new regions voted to give an overwhelming endorsement for the creation of the regions.

Nalerigu is the largest town in the East Mamprusi Municipal Assembly.

Prior to Tuesday’s announcement, leaders of various communities such as Walewale, Nalerigu and Gambaga all in the newly created region had made several calls for their respective communities to be named the capital.