List of 39 MPs who never spoke in Parliament in 2019


The news portal’s Political Desk team has combed through 125 hansards of 2019 over a three-week project and presents its findings.

The research does not claim to be an exhaustive work on the contributions of MPs to the work of Parliament. It does not include their work at committees as that would be nigh impossible to track.


It also does not include portions of the Hansard that deals with the correction of minutes because that would be majoring on minors.

In this next batch of research, presents you with a list of 39 MPs who never spoke on the floor of the House in 2019, according to the Hansard.

Of the 39 MPs, 31 are with the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP). Five female MPs in Parliament made the infamous list.

Some 23 first-term MPs also did not  speak on the floor while two despite being in their fourth term in parliament did not utter a word during proceedings.

At least five names on this list are ministers or deputy ministers – including deputy minister for Roads and Highways Anthony Karbo and recently promoted a Minister of State at the Ministry for the Interior, Byran Acheampong

Their names raises questions about Ghana’s political system which allows a majority of ministers to be appointed from parliament. The practice continues to undermine the work of parliament and the effectiveness of MPs who get the executive nod.

This is however not likely to worry MPs as many enter parliament with an eye for ministerial appointments which comes with big budget controls and personal perks.

A position that comes with far greater political clout than an MP.

Upper Denkyira East, NPP NPP M 4 Amoako, Nana 0
Akrofruom, NPP NPP M 4 Appiah-Pinkrah, Kwabena 0
Jaman South, NPP NPP M 3 Afful, Yaw 0
Berekum West, NPP NPP M 3 Boateng, Kwaku Agyenim 0
Bibiani-Anwiaso-Bekwai, NPP NPP M 2 Aboagye, Gyedu Kingsley 0
Abetifi, NPP NPP M 2 Acheampong, Bryan 0
Ahafo Ano South West, NPP NPP M 2 Adu, Johnson Kwaku 0
Afigya Kwabre North, NPP NPP M 2 Amaniampong, Nana Marfo 0
Kumawu, NPP NPP M 2 Basoah, Philip 0
Tema Central, NPP NPP M 2 Brako, Kofi 0
Asutifi North, NPP NPP M 2 Dahah, Benhazin Joseph 0
Karaga, NDC NDC M 2 Dandawa, Alhassan Sualihu 0
Amasaman, NDC NDC M 2 Laryea, Emmanuel Nii Okai 0
Salaga North, NDC NDC M 2 Mumuni, Alhassan 0
Agona East NDC F 2 Sawyerr, Queenstar Pokuah 0
Ayawaso East NPP M 2 Toure, Naser Mahama 0
Sissala West, NPP NPP M 1 Adamah, Patrick Al-Hassan 0
Zebilla, NPP NPP M 1 Adongo, Frank Fuseini 0
Akwatia, NPP NPP M 1 Adu-Gyamfi, Mercy 0
Atebubu/Amantin, NPP NPP M 1 Amoakohene, Kofi 0
Mampong, NPP NPP M 1 Ampratwum, Sarpong Kwaku 0
Subin, NPP NPP M 1 Antwi, Eugene Boakye 0
Akuapem North, NPP NPP F 1 Asiamah Adjei, Nana Dokua 0
Lower West Akim, NPP NPP M 1 Baffour, Eyiah Kyei 0
Obuasi East, NPP NPP M 1 Boakye-Yiadom, Patrick 0
Asunafo North, NPP NPP M 1 Bobie, Evans Opoku 0
Lawra, NPP NPP M 1 Karbo, Anthony N-Yoh Abayifaa 0
Nkoranza South, NPP NPP M 1 Konadu-Yiadom, Charles 0
Agona West,NPP NPP F 1 Morrison, Cynthia Mamle 0
Savelugu NPP NPP M 1 Mr Muhammed Abdul-Samed Gunu 0
Afigya Sekyere East NPP F 1 Nkansah-Boadu, Mavis 0
Upper Denkyira West NPP M 1 Nsowah-Djan, Samuel 0
New Edubease NPP M 1 Oduro, George 0
Wulensi NPP M 1 Ogajah, Thomas Donkor 0
Afram Plains South NDC M 1 Osei, Owusu Eric 0
Manso Nkwanta NPP M 1 Quarm, Joseph Albert 0
Bortianor-Ngleshie Amanfro NPP M 1 Saad, Habiab 0
Upper Manya Krobo NDC M 1 Tetteh, Joseph 0
North Dayi NDC F 1 Tetteh, Joycelyn 0 is serializing the performance of MPs on the floor of the chamber. Watch out for the next episode on the most vocal debutants, plus research on the contributions of female MPs.



Leave a Reply